Great Open Source Classes to Help Create Stunning iOS Applications

I have decided to start writing small tutorials in this blog in order to help some up and comers get through some difficult concepts that I myself had problems with. I feel as though the first thing I should talk about should be open source classes, as this helps add some great effects to an application. I will say this first and foremost:

If you are going to use any of these within an application and releasing

it, please get permission, as well as giving credit where credit is due. 

Developers of these classes have spent a long time creating these, and nothing is worse than seeing something you created and not getting any credit for it. Hopefully some of these you have not heard of, and I hope people will also comment with other collaborations, and I will update it as so.

Stormy Productions’ Scrolling UILabel

Link: http://blog.stormyprods.com/2009/10/simple-scrolling-uilabel-for-iphone.html

Have you ever had some text that was too long for the frame size of the label? What if you aren’t sure how long the text will be? This is where this gem comes into play. If the text is longer than the frame, it will scroll across the screen, allowing all of the text to be seen. You can still set things such as background color, text color, font size and others such as scroll direction, speed, pause interval. If you aren’t sure about the size of your UILabels, I would give this a look over.

FTUtils

Link: http://ftutils.com/

This is by far my favorite set of tools. This was developed by Nathan Eror (@neror)  and is a collection of custom animations. This allows you to push new views onto the screen or pop them off, all while looking great. Below is a video of all of the created animations. This set of tools really does help in making your application feel more professional.

WEPopover

Link: https://github.com/werner77/WEPopover

I recently just discovered this within the past week, and have not really looked too deep into it, but I am eager to use it. This class mimics the popover effect on the iPad, which utilizes another view to show other options.

This is the popover effect exclusively on the iPad -- until now.

Even if you are not looking into something like this, just seeing this effect really gets the mind going with new ideas that can utilize this.

These are the few classes I have stumbled across in my 5 months of iOS developing, and I hope there are many more. If you know of any, please add them in the comments below, along with a description and I will add them to this list. I hate to sound like a broken record, however:

If you are going to use any of these within an application and releasing

it, please get permission, as well as giving credit where credit is due. 

    • mBax
    • July 15th, 2011

    The TapkuLibrary is also a really good set of tools!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

